Colorado medical marijuana is growing in leaps and bounds – 80,000 medical cards have been issued and as many as a thousand a month keep being issued.
In June 2010, two new laws became effective in Colorado. This was called the 70/30 legislation. A dispensary must grow 70% of their products – and a grower must sell 70% of their crops through one dispensary.
This doesn’t sound too difficult at first glance, but considering the fact that growers have been selling to a number of different dispensaries. Finding a dispensary large enough to take 70% of their crops is not easy – and who will be able to supply the small dispensaries, or is this the way the State gets rid of too many dispensaries.
Colorado medical marijuana makes it hard on marijuana co-ops, which are also banned under the new laws. This is making too much change too fast for the people that have been getting their medicine through co-ops.
The new laws provide cities and counties with the authority to restrict the number of dispensaries.
Colorado Springs has the largest dispensary in the state. Their cheaper marijuana sells for $250.00 an ounce – premium “brands” go for as much as $500.00 per ounce. Patients must show their up to date card in order to make a purchase.
Certain approved health conditions are necessary in order to acquire a Colorado medical marijuana card. These are: Cancer; HIV/Aids positive; Cachexia; Severe Pain; Severe Nausea; Severe Muscle Spasms; Glaucoma; Epilepsy; and Multiple Sclerosis. Other conditions are subject to the Colorado Board of Health.Colorado Medical Marijuana 2010 Laws:
Possession of one once or less is considered a petty crime
Maximum penalty for petty crime is $100.00 fine
Displaying or using marijuana in public is 15 days in jail
Possession of more than one ounce is a misdemeanor
Misdemeanor possession is punishable by 6 to 18 months in jail and a fine of $500.00 to $5,000.00 with an additional $600.00 surcharge
Possession of more than 8 ounces is a felony
Felony possession is punishable by 1 to 3 years and a fine of $1,000.00 to $100,000.00 with an additional $1,125.00 surcharge
Legal medical marijuana patients may possess up to two ounces without breaking the law
Legal medical marijuana patients may possess up to 6 plants. 3 mature – 3 immature
Transfers of less than an ounce without an exchange of money are treated as petty crime
Transfers of any amount for money are a felony
Felony transfers are punishable by 2 to 4 years in prison and a fine of $2000.00 to $500,000.00 with an additional $1,500.00 surchargeDon’t forget to subscribe to The Marijuana Leaflets, our FREE E-zine loaded with valuable information on marijuana, expert advice, guidance and answers to your questions about cannabis.
As a Thank You for taking the time to fill in the form below and confirm your subscription, you’ll receive a complimentary copy of the must-have Report, Marijuana: The Whole Story – From the Very Beginning – don’t miss it, subscribe now!TOP: Colorado Medical Marijuana Return to State Marijuana LawsMedical Marijuana Home Page